And the Oscar goes to…

Me! For epic forgetfulness. I would like to thank my mom…for birthing me.

Anyway, here I am. *cue Nicki Minaj “Here I Am”* Okay, seriousness time.

The 84th Annual Academy Awards* were in a word…Awesome!! And I will tell you why.

First off, Billy Crystal? The man was awesome. I loved the opening “movie”. I also like how he ribbed the celebrities in a funny was *cough cough…Ricky Gervais cough cough” So yeah, he was funny. I really loved when he looked at the celebrities, and then said what they were thinking. Clooney, Pitt, Jolie, Freeman, Davis, Scorsese, Nolte, and Uggie. I especially loved his take on Freeman, “For twenty days and twenty nights, the Emperor penguin will march to a place so extreme, it supports no other life”, and Scorsese. “Ready Camera Two ready Camera two, take Marty take Marty, take me take me, push in…” and so on. There was one joke I didn’t like though. He said to talk to the nearest black woman in Beverly Hills, he had to drive forty-five minutes away. That one didn’t gel with me. What else? Oh! Hugo pulled an Adele, sweeping up very nicely. Speaking of music, how awkward is it when they, the mysterious “they”, start to play the music on the winners, and then the mike fades out? I was cringing for them. I was also cringing for Gwneth Paltrow, who I thought looked lovely in her dress btw. Robert Downey Jr. in, “The Presenter”. I love how she came back though. My favorite bits of the conversation were,

RBD Jr.: “This is a live documentary.”

Gwyneth Paltrow: Robert, that’s the news!”

Priceless.

Acceptance speeches. Two words. Besides the first two. Anyway, Octavia Spencer! OMG!! I am so glad she won and those tears, and the deep breaths, you could tell she was humble. And, she looked gorgeous. Her acceptance reminded me of Adele’s at the Grammy’s. Also, the two guys who didn’t expect to win at all, can you imagine them telling that story.

“And that kids, is how we accidentally won an Oscar.”

There were many beautiful dresses and gown, but Glenn Close? She looked absolutely stunning! As did Angelina, in that very daring side slit to the inner thigh dress. And the brooch on the back? Clever. Cameron Diaz was shining, and J-Lo, who apparently had a slip, I didn’t see it, but whatevs. Anyway, she looked amazing, her skin was practically glowing. I want what she’s using!

Two more highlights. The first, is Chris Rock. He looks so different with a hair. I did a double take when I saw him talking to Robin Roberts. Then, I laughed my butt off when he took to the stage.

Chris Rock: “Animation is the best type of film. If you’re a fat woman, you can be a skinny princess. If you’re a short wimpy man, you can be a tall gladiator. If you’re a white man, you can be an Arabian prince! And if you’re a black man, you can be a zebra, or a donkey!!” I love me some Chris Rock. I hope he has some projects coming up, I always laugh when he cracks a joke.

Okay. The final highlight is…The Cirque de Soleil performance. Jaw dropping amazingness in its purest form!!! I mean, come on, there were chairs in the air! The air! The acrobats were incredibly flexible, and even when they made a mistake, they kept going like true professionals. I really, really, really want to see a Cirque de Soleil performance in person. That would make the rest of my life! My favorite part of the Academy Awards performance, was when they had the Matrix/Limitless sequence. My back hurt just watching, I wonder if the chiropractors who were watching were in a frenzy.

So, yeah. Those are my 84th Annual Academy Awards highlights!

Ciao for now lovelies!

* If you’re like me, you’ve probably wondered at least once, Why is an Oscar called an Oscar at the Academy Awards? Well, there are many explanations, and many of them have been contested. One explanation is below.

According to the Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia on AOL: “At the awards ceremony, televised each spring, a gold statuette is presented to each winner. This famous symbol of professional success was dubbed ‘Oscar’ in 1931 by a subsequent executive director of the academy, Margaret Herrick, who thought it resembled her uncle Oscar.”

A few more are listed here: One biography of Bette Davis claims that she named the Oscar after her first husband, band leader Harmon Oscar Nelson; one of the earliest mentions in print of the term Oscar dates back to a Time magazine article about the 1934 6th Academy Awards. Walt Disney is also quoted as thanking the Academy for his Oscar as early as 1932.  Another claimed origin is that the Academy’s Executive Secretary, Margaret Herrick, first saw the award in 1931 and made reference to the statuette’s reminding her of her “Uncle Oscar” (a nickname for her cousin Oscar Pierce). Columnist Sidney Skolsky was present during Herrick’s naming and seized the name in his byline, “Employees have affectionately dubbed their famous statuette ‘Oscar'”.The trophy was officially dubbed the “Oscar” in 1939 by the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences. Another legend reports that the Norwegian-American Eleanor Lilleberg, executive secretary to Louis B. Mayer, saw the first statuette and exclaimed, “It looks like King Oscar II!”.  At the end of the day she asked, “What should we do with Oscar, put him in the vault?” and the name stuck.

So, there you have it. Which one do you think is possible? Comment below.

Leave a Reply

